Épisodes

ÉPISODE 1: Cyclisme

La descente en vélo de montagne permet aux autochtones qui pratiquent ce sport de revenir sur leur territoire ancestral en Colombie-Britannique en prenant une voie différente. Cet épisode met en scène Brianna Kelly, une jeune fille de 16 ans capable de dévaler les pistes comme les pros, alors qu’elle participe à la Coupe Silver Star Downhill en Colombie-Britannique, accompagnée de son entraîneur et mentor, Jay Bearhead.

Read More

Nous rencontrons aussi Tom Eustache, précurseur et ouvreur de pistes ayant lancé des initiatives pour créer des pistes cyclables destinées aux professionnels et aux clubs de cyclisme dans sa communauté.
RÉALISATRICE : Michelle Smith
MONTEUSE : Meiyen Chan

Read Less

ÉPISODE 2. Jeu de lacrosse

L’ancien jeu de lacrosse a gagné en popularité au fil des années, de plus en plus d’équipes régionales le pratiquant. Kallen Currie, de la Première Nation de Mistawasis en Saskatchewan, est une athlète en devenir du jeu de lacrosse qui a eu la chance de participer au Championnat du monde junior de lacrosse.

Read More

Cet épisode met également en scène le légendaire joueur de lacrosse Gaylord Powless des Six Nations de Grand River, dont la brillante carrière a contribué à faire connaître ce sport au Canada, et l’ancien champion international de lacrosse Cam Bomberry, qui agit à titre de mentor et fait de la promotion auprès des jeunes.
RÉALISATEUR : Paul Rickard
MONTEUR : David Stonier

Read Less

EPIDSODE 3. Football

Le football est l'un des sports les plus populaires au Canada. Malgré les distances considérables qui séparent les communautés, ce sport est pratiqué dans de nombreuses écoles des Premières Nations du Nord de la Saskatchewan. Nous rencontrons Dray Tinker et l'équipe de football de l'école de Pinehouse Lake alors qu’ils affrontent d'autres écoles pratiquant le football à six.

Read More

Nous découvrons aussi l'histoire du joueur autochtone Jack Jacobs et la manière dont il a marqué ce sport, et celle de Josh Sacobie, originaire du Nouveau-Brunswick et entraîneur de l'équipe de football des Ravens de l'Université Carleton à Ottawa.
RÉALISATEUR : Paul Rickard
MONTEUR : Jesse Bochner

Read Less

ÉPISODE 4. Boxe

Cet épisode présente les accomplissements de deux femmes dynamiques, qui font leur marque dans le domaine traditionnellement masculin de la boxe. Kenzie Wilson, résidente de Winnipeg, et originaire de la Première Nation de Cross Lake dans le nord du Manitoba, parle de son travail acharné et de ses réalisations personnelles, qui lui ont permis de passer à travers des moments difficiles.

Read More

La boxeuse olympique Mary Spencer parle aussi de ce qui permet de survivre dans ce sport difficile, et de son rôle dans la boxe. Nous la suivons alors qu'elle agit comme entraîneure et mentor auprès des jeunes de la Première Nation de Kashechechewan, dans le Nord de l'Ontario. Les frères Sinclair se remémorent de leur père, le précurseur Sam Sinclair, soldat et boxeur pendant la guerre, qui est devenu par la suite un leader pour sa communauté Métis.
RÉALISATRICE: Courtney Montour
MONTEUR: Jesse Bochner

Read Less

ÉPISODE 5. Volleyball

Le volleyball est un sport très apprécié par les communautés des Premières Nations. Cet épisode présente la famille Walkingbear, qui a fondé son propre club de volleyball dans sa collectivité de la Première Nation Thunderchild, en Saskatchewan, avec des joueurs formés localement et des athlètes d'élite.

Read More

Thundersky Walkingbear souhaite jouer au plus haut niveau, Winston Walkingbear détient et transmet ses connaissances d'entraîneur-chef, et Savana Walkingbear est le pionnier, qui a ouvert la voie à ses petits frères et à son équipe pour leur permettre de devenir des athlètes accomplis du volley-ball.
RÉALISATEUR : Paul Rickard
MONTEUR : Jesse Bochner

Read Less

ÉPISODE 6. Canot Salish

Le canotage fait partie de la culture des Premières Nations de la Côte Ouest depuis des siècles. Aujourd'hui, des familles pratiquent le sport et passent leurs étés à parcourir la côte de la C.-B et participer à des courses de canoë. Dans cet épisode, nous rencontrons des membres de la tribu Cowichan, y compris Jedson August, un maître sculpteur qui construit des pirogues traditionnelles pour sa famille.

Read More

Kevin Paige dirige un club de canotage et fait le récit de son histoire dans ce sport, alors que sa fille, Janelle Paige participe elle aussi à des compétitions. L'aîné ‘Luschiim' Arvid Charlie, parle de sa vie avec les canoës et en tant que précurseur qui a consacré sa vie à la conservation de cette ancienne tradition. RÉALISATRICE: Courtney Montour MONTEUR : James Malloch

Read Less

ÉPISODE 7. Basketball

Au Canada, le basketball est une façon à la fois abordable et positive d’aider les jeunes des Premières Nations à trouver leur voie dans la vie, tout en s’amusant ensemble. Tania Cameron coordonne un programme de basketball près de Kenora, Ontario dans le but d’accroître la participation des jeunes, ce qui contribue à la popularité de ce sport.

Read More

À Winnipeg, Jackie Anderson et son mari ont créé le Anishinabe Pride Basketball Club pour aider les jeunes des quartiers urbains à améliorer leur sort. Michael Linklater, un joueur de basketball à 3, décrit sa vie dans le sport et les initiatives qu’il a lancées pour implanter son programme de basketball dans les communautés des Premières Nations.
RÉALISATEUR: Paul Rickard
MONTEUR : James Malloch

Read Less

ÉPISODE 8. Soccer

Les tribus Cowichan représentent la plus grande communauté autochtone de la Colombie-Britannique et leurs athlètes parcourent le monde en jouant au soccer. Cet épisode suit le joueur vétéran Dano Thorne qui entraîne de jeunes athlètes et parle de la NIFA, la Native Indian Soccer Association, qui soutient les joueurs de soccer autochtones.

Read More

Nous faisons la connaissance de Tammy Jack, de sa famille et la communauté pendant qu'ils jouent et racontent leurs exploits au soccer. Cet épisode dresse également le portrait de Harry Manson, un joueur exceptionnel ayant été victime de discrimination et de racisme il y a plus d'un siècle qui a cependant réussi à ouvrir la voie aux jeunes générations pour qu'elles puissent participer aux compétitions.
RÉALISATRICE: Courtney Montour
MONTEUR : James Malloch

Read Less

ÉPISODE 9. Kayak

Cet épisode nous plonge dans le milieu du kayak de vitesse de compétition. James Lavallée, un Métis de Winnipeg, est un kayakiste qui participe à des compétitions depuis des années et qui se qualifiera bientôt aux Jeux Olympiques pour Équipe Canada. Cathy Rice, originaire de Kahnawake, agit comme mentor auprès de jeunes à partir du Club de pagayage Onake.

Read More

Elle évoque ses liens avec le sport et la nature. Médaillé d’or aux Jeux Olympiques. Alwyn Morris parle de son parcours dans la pratique du kayak de vitesse et décrit les qualités nécessaires pour atteindre le plus haut niveau dans cette discipline.
RÉALISATEUR: Jeff Dorn
MONTEUSE : Meiyen Chan

Read Less

ÉPISODE 10. Lutte

Les frères jumeaux Thomas et Philip Barreirto d’Akwesasne sont des lutteurs de style gréco-romains en voie de se qualifier pour les Jeux Olympiques de 2020. Tara Hedican, la première femme autochtone à remporter un championnat du monde de lutte junior,

Read More

se rend à Kahnawake pour tenir un atelier et parler avec la jeune équipe de lutte de son parcours dans ce sport. Les lutteurs amateurs Judy Russell et Kendra Cheers ont eu la chance de lutter et de participer aux Jeux autochtones de l’Amérique du Nord.
RÉALISATRICE: Margaret Horn
MONTEUR: Jesse Bochner

Read Less

ÉPISODE 11. Course à pied

L’épreuve de course à pied le Marathon Mamu a lieu chaque année dans la petite communauté de Uashat et la Ville de Sept-Îles, au Québec. Nous écoutons les réflexions de Byron 'Geronimo' Michel sur sa vie, ses entraînements et ses sprints jusqu'à la ligne d'arrivée.

Read More

Roger Vachon est le fondateur du Marathon Mamu. Il a mené des batailles qui lui ont permis de relever le défi de changer sa vie. Stanley Vollant, le premier chirurgien autochtone au Québec, adopte la vie nomade de ses ancêtres en marchant avec les jeunes des Premières Nations pour leur donner de l’inspiration, tout en promouvant une mode de vie sain.
RÉALISATEUR: Felix Atencio Gonzáles
MONTEUSE: Meiyen Chan

Read Less

ÉPISODE 12. Jeux d'hiver de l'Arctique

Les Jeux d'hiver de l'Arctique sont une célébration internationale des sports circumpolaires et de la culture autochtone, mettant en vedette l’athlétisme traditionnel et moderne en Arctique. Nous suivons les jeunes athlètes Emily King, Matthew Jacobson et Kuduat Shorty de l'équipe du Yukon,

Read More

alors qu'ils participent à des compétitions et parlent de leur expérience aux Jeux Olympiques circumpolaires. Donald Kuptana, un responsable des Jeux de l’Arctique et notre mentor dans cet épisode, retrace l’historique de ces sports et souligne l’importance d’y participer. Le pionnier des sports de l'Arctique, Johnny Issaluk, a participé à de nombreuses compétitions, et est reconnu en tant qu'athlète, formateur et également un comédien réputé.
RÉALISATEUR: Jeff Dorn
MONTEUR: James Malloch

Read Less

EPISODE 13. Patinage de vitesse

Si vous vivez dans le Nord, vous savez qu'il existe de nombreuses façons de s'amuser sur la glace. Un petit groupe de jeunes athlètes tente de se surpasser dans le patinage de vitesse. Cet épisode met en vedette Rosalie Demaio, Emma Carpenter et Akutaq Williamson Bathory, de jeunes patineurs de l'Équipe Nunavut sous la direction de Kyle St. Laurent, ancien patineur de compétition, pendant qu’ils s’entrainent et se préparent pour les Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique.

Read More

. Le précurseur John Maurice parle de la façon dont il a réussi à implanter le sport à Iqaluit et de ses bienfaits pour la communauté.
RÉALISATRICE : Asinnajaq
MONTEUSE: Meiyen Chan

Read Less

Jeu Vidéo

Droit au but, un jeux de carte compétitif, se focalise sur l’importance des athlètes aborigène dans une variété de sports. Jouez en tête à tête contre d’autre joueur avec le mode multijoueur, contre l’ordinateur ou même en mode solo.

Read More

Soyez le premier à avoir le plus de point pour gagner. La série télévisée Droit au But, va mettre de lavant des athlètes des premières nations, des mentors, et des gens du passé et du futur qui ont aidé a tracer la route pour les nouvelles générations dans le monde sportif. Tout les personnages trouvé dans le jeux vidéo vont avoir des descriptions et leur sport de choix. Le jeux de carte est simple, concret et amusant et il peut être joué par des gens de toute âge. Le téléchargement du jeux est disponible sur les plateformes android et iOS.

Read Less

ÉQUIPE DE PRODUCTION

Mushkeg Media Mushkeg Productions Inc. est une compagnie de production autochtone qui se spécialise dans la réalisation de films et de vidéos explorant les réalités indigènes. Ses productions traitent des problématiques contemporaines auxquelles font face les Premières Nations du Canada, de leur environnement, de leurs activités, de leurs traditions ainsi que de leur lutte pour leur autonomie économique et politique. La compagnie est présidée par Paul Rickard, cinéaste cri indépendant et caméraman. Son partenaire George Hargrave est un producteur et réalisateur de grande expérience. Droit au but est leur cinquième série pour APTN.

Paul Rickard
Scénariste et Réalisateur
Producteur

Paul Rickard est un Cri Omuskego de Moose Factory, dans le Nord de l'Ontario. Au cours des 25 dernières années, il a travaillé en tant que producteur, réalisateur et caméraman en collaboration avec des sociétés de production indépendantes et des organismes tels que Nutaaq Media Inc,

Read More

Wawatay Native Communications Society, CBC North et l'Office national du film du Canada. Paul a réalisé le film primé de l'ONF "Okimah" et a travaillé sur de nombreux autres documentaires par le biais de sa propre compagnie de production Mushkeg Media Inc., notamment "Parler pour Survivre : un voyage dans les langues autochtones", "Le Petit Caughnawaga : Aller et Retour à Brooklyn", "Kanien'keha:ka : Vivre sa langue", "Architecture autochtone, Architecture vivante" et "Cercle de Feu".

Read Less

Courtney Montour
Scénariste et réalisatrice

Courtney Montour est une Mohawk de Kahnawake. Elle travaille dans le domaine du documentaire et des médias numériques, explorant l’identité autochtone. Son long métrage documentaire "Sex Spirit Strength" (2015) a été diffusé en première sur APTN et a remporté deux prix au Festival du Film de Yorkton en 2016 dont celui du meilleur film.

Read More

Elle a également réalisé des épisodes dans plusieurs séries documentaires comme "Les Bâtisseurs de Légendes" (2016), "Working Out Together" (2016) et "Dream Big" (2015). Elle coordonne actuellement le programme d’études autochtones de l’université McGill à Kahnawake.

Read Less

George Hargrave
Producteur

George a plus de 25 ans d’expérience comme producteur et réalisateur indépendant. Après un long séjour au pôle Nord en 1987, George demeure fasciné par toutes les réalités nordiques. Avec son partenaire Paul Rickard, il a fondé la maison de production Mushkeg Media pour raconter le Nord et ses habitants.

Read More

Leurs documentaires traitent de la langue, de la culture, de l'architecture, des brasseurs de bière, du chocolat, des barrages hydroélectriques, de l'éducation, de l’abus sexuel, de la santé et de l'histoire. Ils s’intéressent aujourd’hui aux jeunes sportifs des Premières Nations.

Read Less

Michelle Smith
Scénariste et réalisatrice

Michelle Smith est une cinéaste métisse, une artiste en arts médiatiques et une éducatrice. À l’aide de divers médias, elle explore les problèmes associés à l'identité autochtone, à la transmission de la culture et aux efforts de décolonisation. Parmi ses réalisations documentaires notons "Working it Out Together 3" (2016) et la série "Parler pour Survivre" sur les langues autochtones (2010) ;

Read More

les longs métrages documentaires "determiNATION songs" (2009) et "Turbulent Waters" (2004), le film expérimental "Buried Traces" (2010) et la scénarisation de "C’était une femme" (2013). Ses projets en médias numériques incluent www.OtaNdaYanaan.net, un documentaire interactif mettant à l’honneur la langue et la culture métisses et Niska, un jeu vidéo sur la chasse à l'oie crie. Elle enseigne les communications aux collèges Dawson et John Abbott à Montréal; elle coordonne aussi le programme Dawson College Journeys pour les étudiants autochtones.

Read Less

Margaret Horn
Scénariste et réalisatrice

Margaret Horn est une Mohawk de Kahnawake, Clan de l’Ours. Elle a été productrice exécutive déléguée pour des documentaires, "Our Nation's Elders Speak" et "Diabetes & Aging", "Keepers of the Earth : Women and HIV/AIDS", la vidéo d'exercice Spirit in Motion (diffusée sur APTN) et Coming Full Circle qui enseigne aux travailleurs de la santé des exercices adaptés aux personnes âgées.

Read More

En 2006, elle a produit une vidéo de 60 minutes, "Spirit of the Land", qui fait la promotion du tourisme au Canada et qui a été présenté en première à 1200 agents touristiques à RendezVous Canada. Aujourd’hui semi-retraitée, elle partage son temps entre Kahnawake et les Adirondacks, la terre traditionnelle de son peuple.

Read Less

Jeff Dorn
Scénariste et réalisatrice

Jeff Dorn réalise des documentaires depuis plus de 25 ans. Pour Jeff , la valeur d’une histoire tient avant tout à son intégrité. Il croit que le fait de partager le discours social et politique d’un sujet peut susciter des conversations pouvant amener un changement positif. Une sérieuse discussion autour d’un café déclenche souvent une bonne histoire.

Read More

Bien écouter une histoire est essentielle à la réalisation de grands films et le travail de Jeff incarne cette notion, créant des films qui suscitent une réflexion émotive.

Read Less

Eric LeMoyne
Compositeur/Mixeur

Eric a été ravi de s'occuper à la fois de la composition musicale et du mixage sonore de cette série qui reprenait ses rôles pour la série "Parler pour Survivre" de Mushkeg Média. Parmi ses projets musicaux récents, mentionnons le long métrage documentaire de la CBC, "Newfoundland at Armageddon"; "Deluged by Data" de DocZone ; la série à succès "Scam City" de NatGeo ; ainsi que le plus récent épisode de la série de films danois "My Sister's Kids".

Read More

D’autres projets de mixage comprennent la série d'animation 3D en cours ICI-Laflaque et On s'aime en chien d'Explora.

Read Less

Asinnajaq
Scénariste et réalisatrice

Asinnajaq, aussi connue sous le nom d'Isabella Weetaluktuk, est une cinéaste et une artiste dont le travail exprime essentiellement son respect des droits de la personne, sa volonté d'explorer son patrimoine inuit et un sentiment d'émerveillement face à ce qu'elle appelle « l’abondante beauté du monde ».

Read More

Fille du cinéaste Jobie Weetaluktuk et de Carol Rowan, professeure à l'université, elle était adolescente lorsqu'elle a aidé son père sur "Timuti" (2012), un film qu'il a tourné à Inukjuak, d’où provient leur famille élargie. Elle a ensuite étudié le cinéma à l'Université NSCAD à Halifax, et son court métrage "Upinnaqusittik" (Lucky) (2016) a été présenté en première à iNuit Blanche, le tout premier festival des arts circumpolaires à St. John's. Son premier film avec l'Office national du film du Canada, "Three Thousand" (2017), d'une durée de 12 minutes, combine des images historiques d'Inuits tirées des archives de l'ONF et une animation originale.

Read Less

Felix Atencio-Gonzales
Scénariste et réalisatrice

Felix Atencio-Gonzales est un autochtone Quechua originaire du Pérou ayant immigré au Canada il y a plus de 20 ans. Il vit à Listuguj, Québec, où il travaille comme journaliste, traducteur et organisateur communautaire. Felix a réalisé des épisodes de la série télévisée "Eastern Tide", qui s’intéresse aux peuples autochtones du Canada et aux Mi’qmaq en particulier, ainsi qu’un épisode de "Parler pour Survivre" volet 2.

Read More

HSon plus récent film "Mama Coca : The Sacred Leaf" qui traite de l’utilisation à des fins sacrées et médicinales de la plante de coca, a remporté le prix Planet in Focus de Mark Haslam (2008). En 2014, il a écrit, tourné et monté un documentaire sur les relations culturelles, sociales et spirituelles des Mi'gmaq de Listuguj et des Salmon, commandé par le Centre de ressources Mi'gmaq Gespe'gewaq de Listuguj. En 2015-2016, il a été chercheur, preneur de son et traducteur de la série "Connected", produite par APTN/Knowledge Network pour Productions Vic Pelletier. La série porte sur les peuples autochtones du Pérou, du Guatemala, de l'Équateur, de la Colombie, du Mexique et du Chili.

Read Less

Ironworkers

Ring Of Fire

It was a woman

Contactez-nous !

103 Villeneuve St. West Montréal, Qc. H2T 2R6

 

mushkeg@videotron.ca

Fermer le menu

Episodes

EPISODE 1: Biking

Downhill Mountain Biking is bringing Aboriginal people back to their ancestral British Columbia territory in new ways. This episode features Brianna Kelly, a 16-year-old who can shred like the pros, on her journey to the Silver Star Downhill B.C. Cup with her coach and mentor, Jay Bearhead.

Read More

We also meet Tom Eustache, a trailblazer who has pioneered the building of professional biking trails and clubs for his community.
DIRECTOR: Michelle Smith
EDITOR: Meiyen Chan

Read Less

EPISODE 2. Lacrosse

The ancient game of Lacrosse has gained popularity through the years with more teams and regions joining the sport. Kallen Currie of Mistawasis First Nation in Saskatchewan is an aspiring lacrosse athlete who is given a chance to compete at the World Junior Lacrosse Championship.

Read More

This episode also profiles legendary lacrosse player, Gaylord Powless of Six Nations of the Grand River, whose career contributed to the sport’s renown in Canada, and former international lacrosse champion, Cam Bomberry, a mentor to youth and tireless promoter of the sport.
DIRECTOR: Paul Rickard
EDITOR: David Stonier

Read Less

EPIDSODE 3. Football

Football is one of Canada’s mainstream sports. Despite the vast distances between communities, the sport has found its way into many First Nations schools in northern Saskatchewan. We follow Dray Tinker and the Pinehouse Lake school football team as they compete with other schools in Six-A-Side football.

Read More

We tell the little-known story of Aboriginal role model Jack Jacobs and of the mark he made on the sport, as well as that of Josh Sacobie, a native from New Brunswick and a coach for the Carleton University Ravens football team in Ottawa.
DIRECTOR: Paul Rickard
EDITOR: Jesse Bochner

Read Less

EPISODE 4. Boxing

This episode features the accomplishments of two dynamic women making their mark in the traditionally male world of boxing. Winnipeg resident Kenzie Wilson, of the Cross Lake First Nation in Northern Manitoba, talks about the hard work and perseverance that got her through hard times.

Read More

Olympic Boxer Mary Spencer also talks about what it takes to succeed in this difficult sport, and we follow her as she trains and mentors youth in the First Nation community of Kashechewan in northern Ontario. The Sinclair brothers look back on their father, trailblazer Sam Sinclair, who fought and boxed in the war, and later became a community leader for the Metis Nation.
DIRECTOR: Courtney Montour
EDITOR: Jesse Bochner

Read Less

EPISODE 5. Volleyball

Volleyball is a sport well recognized by First Nations communities. This episode follows the Walkingbear family of Thunderchild First Nation in Saskatchewan, who started their own community-based volleyball club, which has produced highly trained players and elite volleyball athletes.

Read More

Founder Winston Walkingbear is the knowledge giver and head coach, Thundersky Walkingbear wants to play at the highest-level, and Savana Walkingbear is the trailblazer, who paved the way for his little brothers and other team members to become successful athletes in the sport.
DIRECTOR: Paul Rickard
EDITOR: Jesse Bochner

Read Less

EPISODE 6. Salish Canoeing

Canoeing has been a part of the West Coast First Nations cultures throughout the centuries. Today, canoe families train and spend their summers travelling up and down the coast of B.C. competing in races.

Read More

In this episode, we meet members of Cowichan Tribes First Nation, including master traditional dugout canoe carver Jedson August. Kevin Paige, a former racer who now runs the community’s canoe club and coordinates canoeing events, mentors his daughter Janelle, a paddler and competitive racer. Elder ‘Luschiim’ Arvid Charlie, speaks about his life with the canoes and his trailblazing role in keeping this ancient tradition very much alive.
DIRECTOR: Courtney Montour
EDITOR: James Malloch

Read Less

EPISODE 7. Basketball

Basketball in Canada is an affordable sport and a good way for Indigenous youth to have fun together and trace themselves a better path in life. Near Kenora, Ontario, Tania Cameron runs a basketball program that has been successful in increasing youth involvement and driving the sport’s popularity.

Read More

In Winnipeg, the Anishinabe Pride Basketball Club, created by Jackie Anderson and her husband to help inner city youth to lead a better life, is testimony to the couple’s dedication and to the participants’ enthusiasm for the sport. Trailblazer Michael Linklater, a 3x3 basketball player, speaks about his life with the sport and initiatives to bring his basketball program to First Nation communities.
DIRECTOR: Paul Rickard
EDITOR: James Malloch

Read Less

EPISODE 8. Soccer

Cowichan Tribes is the largest First Nations community in British Columbia and its soccer athletes have travelled the world playing this sport. This episode follows veteran player, Dano Thorne, as he coaches young athletes and talks about NIFA, the Native Indian Soccer Association, which provides training and opportunities for indigenous players.

Read More

We meet Tammy Jack, her family, and other members of the community while they play and tell stories of their soccer accomplishments. This episode also features Harry Manson, a superior player who faced discrimination and racism over a century ago, but still blazed the trail for younger generations to compete in soccer.
DIRECTOR: Courtney Montour
EDITOR: James Malloch

Read Less

EPISODE 9. Kayaking

This episode dives into the competitive sport of Sprint Kayaking. James Lavallée, a Metis from Winnipeg, is a kayaker who has been competing for years and is now ready to qualify in the Olympics for Team Canada. Cathy Rice from Kahnawake is a mentor to many in her work at the Onake Paddling Club. She speaks about her connection with the sport and with Mother Nature.

Read More

1984 Olympic gold medalist Alwyn Morris, talks about his journey and what it takes to get to the highest level of sprint kayaking.
DIRECTOR: Jeff Dorn
EDITOR: Meiyen Chan

Read Less

EPISODE 10. Wrestling

Twin brothers Thomas and Philip Barreiro of Akwesasne are Greco-Roman style wrestlers who are on their way to qualify for the 2020 Olympics. Tara Hedican, the first indigenous woman to win a World Junior Wrestling Championship,

Read More

travels to Kahnawake to hold a workshop and speak with the young wrestling team about her journey in this sport. Amateur wrestlers Judy Russell and Kendra Cheers get their chance to compete at the North American Indigenous Games.
DIRECTOR: Margaret Horn
EDITOR: Jesse Bochner

Read Less

EPISODE 11. Long Distance Running

The running event called the Mamu Marathon is held every year in the small community of Uashat and the town of Sept-Iles, Quebec. We follow Byron ‘Geronimo’ Michel as he reflects on his life, trains, and sprints to the finish line.

Read More

His mentor, Roger Vachon, is the founder of the Mamu Marathon and has battled issues that gave him the determination to make a change. Stanley Vollant, the first Aboriginal surgeon in Quebec, has walked thousands of miles through First Nations territories, inspired by his ancestors’ nomadic ways to walk with his people and to promote healthy lifestyles.
DIRECTOR: Felix Atencio Gonzáles
EDITOR: Meiyen Chan

Read Less

EPISODE 12. Arctic Sports

The Arctic Winter Games is an international celebration of circumpolar sports and indigenous culture, showcasing traditional Arctic and modern athletics. We join young athletes, Emily King, Matthew Jacobson, and Kuduat Shorty of Team Yukon,

Read More

as they compete and recount what they aspire to in these circumpolar Olympics. Arctic Games official Donald Kuptana, speaks about the history of the sport and what it means to be a part of it. Trailblazer Johnny Issaluk has competed for many years, making his mark as an athlete, a mentor to youth, and as an actor.
DIRECTOR: Jeff Dorn
EDITOR: James Malloch

Read Less

EPISODE 13. Speedskating

In the Nunavut town of Iqaluit, a small group of determined athletes push themselves to the limit in speedskating. This episode profiles the young skaters Rosalie Demaio, Emma Carpenter, and Akutaq Williamson Bathory, of Team Nunavut, led by former competitive skater Kyle St. Laurent, as they train, prepare themselves for, and compete in the Arctic Winter Games.

Read More

Trailblazer John Maurice talks about how he was able to bring the sport to Iqaluit and the impact it has had on the community.
DIRECTOR: Asinnajaq
EDITOR: Meiyen Chan

Read Less

Video Game

First Across The Line is a competitive digital card game that focuses on the importance of Indigenous athletes in a variety of sports. Compete head-to-head against others in Multiplayer, the computer, or in Single-Player, to be the first to gain the most points and win.

Read More

The TV series, ”First Across the Line”, will feature up and coming First Nation athletes, Mentors, and Trailblazers of the past and present that helped pave the way for younger generations to strive in the world of sports. All characters found in the game will feature their Bios and sport of choice, and will also be showcased in the series. The card game is simple, short, and fun that can be played by all ages and skill level. The game is available to download on all mobile platforms on Andorid and iOS.

Read Less

Production Team

Mushkeg Productions Inc. is an Indigenous production company specializing in films and videos about the Indigenous experience, films that deal with contemporary issues facing Canada’s First Nations, their environment, activities, traditions and their struggle for economic and political autonomy. The company is headed by Paul M. Rickard, independent Cree filmmaker and cameraman. Paul’s partner is veteran producer and director George Hargrave. Mohawk Ironworkers is their fourth series for APTN.

Paul Richard
Director/Producer

Paul Rickard is an Omuskego Cree from Moose Factory in Northern Ontario. For the past 25 years, he has been working as a producer, director and cameraman in collaboration with independent production companies and organizations such as Nutaaq Media Inc.,

Read More

Wawatay Native Communications Society, CBC North and the National Film Board of Canada. Paul directed the award winning NFB film “Okimah”, and worked on numerous other documentaries through his own production company Mushkeg Media Inc. that includes “Finding Our Talk: A Journey into Aboriginal Languages”, “Little Caughnawaga: To Brookyln and Back”, “Kanien’keha:ka: Living the Language”, “Aboriginal Architecture, Living Architecture” and “Ring of Fire”.

Read Less

Courtney Montour
Writer/Director

Courtney Montour is Mohawk from Kahnawake. She works in the documentary film and digital media fields exploring issues of Indigenous identity. Her first feature documentary “Sex Spirit Strength’ (2015), premiered on APTN and won two awards at the 2016 Yorkton Film Festival, including Best of Fest.

Read More

She has also directed episodes for several documentary series including ‘Mohawk Ironworkers” (2016), “Working It Out Together” (2016), and “Dream Big” (2015). She currently coordinates McGill University’s Indigenous Field Studies course, held in Kahnawake.

Read Less

George Hargrave
Producer

George has been an independent producer and director for over 25 years. He went to the North Pole in 1987 and has been an admirer of all things northern ever since. He and his production partner Paul Rickard launched Mushkeg Media to tell stories about the north and the people who live there.

Read More

They have made documentaries about language, culture, architecture, beer people, chocolate, power dams, education, sexual abuse, health, history, and now indigenous athletes.

Read Less

Michelle Smith
Writer/Director

Michelle Smith is a Métis filmmaker, media artist and educator. She uses diverse media to explore issues around indigenous identity, cultural continuity and decolonizing practices. Her documentary work includes “Working it Out Together 3” (2016) and the Aboriginal language series “Finding our Talk” (2010); feature docs “determiNATION songs” (2009) and “Turbulent Waters” (2004), experimental film “Buried Traces” (2010), and “It was a Woman” (2013).

Read More

Digital media projects include www.OtaNdaYanaan.net, an interactive documentary celebrating Métis language and culture and work-in-progress “Niska”, a video game about the Cree goose hunt. She teaches Communications at Dawson and John Abbott Colleges in Montreal, and coordinates the Dawson College Journeys program for Indigenous students.

Read Less

Margaret Horn
Writer/Director

Margaret Horn is Mohawk from Kahnawake, Bear Clan. She was executive producer for documentaries, “Our Nation’s Elders Speak” and “Diabetes & Aging”, “Keepers of the Earth: Women and HIV/AIDS”, exercise video “Spirit in Motion” (shown on APTN) and “Coming Full Circle”, teaching health workers gentle exercises for the elderly.

Read More

In 2006 she produced a six-minute Spirit of the Land video to promote tourism in Canada that was premiered before 1200 international tourism operators at RendezVous Canada. She is semi-retired and spends time between Kahnawake and the Adirondacks – the traditionnal homeland of her nation.

Read Less

Jeff Dorn
Writer/Director

Jeff Dorn has been making Documentaries for over 25 years. The images and stories he has collected have won numerous accolades and awards. Jeff’s core value is to the truth of a story and how sharing social political narrative of a subject’s reality can spark discussion with the hope of enforcing a positive change.

Read More

An interesting coffee table discussion often holds the key to a solid tale. Listening to a subject’s story is essential to great films and Dorn’s work has embodied this notion creating compassionate thought provoking films.

Read Less

Eric LeMoyne
Composer/Mixer

Eric was thrilled to handle both the music composing and sound mixing duties for this series, reprising his roles for Mushkeg’s series “Finding Our Talk”. Recent projects in music include CBC’s documentary feature “Newfoundland at Armageddon”; DocZone’s “Deluged by Data”; NatGeo’s hit series “Scam City” as well as the most recent installment of Danish movie series “My Sister’s Kids”.

Read More

Notable among mixing projects are ongoing 3D-animated series “ICI-Laflaque” and Explora’s “On s’aime en chien”.

Read Less

Asinnajaq
Writer/Director

Asinnajaq, also known as Isabella Weetaluktuk, is a filmmaker and artist whose work is fuelled by respect for human rights, a desire to explore her Inuit heritage, and a sense of wonder in what she calls “the abundant beauty of the world”.

Read More

The daughter of filmmaker Jobie Weetaluktuk and university professor Carol Rowan, she was a teenager when she assisted her father on Timuti (2012), a film he made in Inukjuak, home of their extended family. She later studied cinema at NSCAD University in Halifax, and her short film Upinnaqusittik (Lucky) (2016) premiered at iNuit Blanche, the first ever circumpolar arts festival in St. John’s. Her first film with the National Film Board of Canada, the 12-minute-long “Three Thousand” (2017), combines historic footage of Inuit, selected from the NFB’s archive, and original animation.

Read Less

Felix Atencio-Gonzales
Writer/Director

Felix Atencio-Gonzales, a Quechwa native from Peru, immigrated to Canada over 20 years ago. He lives in Listuguj, Quebec where he works as a journalist, translator and community organizer. Felix has directed episodes for the television series, “Eastern Tide”, about Canada’s Aboriginal people, with an emphasis on the Mi’gmaq, as well as several episodes of the Mushkeg produced series, “Finding Our Talk”.

Read More

His film, “Mama Coca: The Sacred Leaf”, about the sacred and medicinal uses of the coca plant, was winner of the Planet in Focus Mark Haslam Award (2008). In 2014, he wrote, shot and edited a documentary about the cultural, social and spiritual relationship of the Mi’gmaq people of Listuguj and the salmon, commissioned by Gespe’gewaq Mi’gmaq Resource Center in Listuguj. In 2015-16, he was the researcher, soundman and translator on the APTN/Knowledge network series “Connected”, produced by Productions Vic Pelletier. The series was about indigenous peoples in Peru, Guatemala, Ecuador, Colombia, Mexico and Chile.

Read Less

Ironworkers

Ring Of Fire

Mushkeg

It was a woman

Contact Us

103 Villeneuve St. West Montréal, Qc. H2T 2R6

 

mushkeg@videotron.ca

Close Menu